Waking : Grimm : The Ghost of Reason Pt.1

“How is this?” Evadia displayed a beautifully written scroll to Geoffrey for approval. She rubbed at the ink on her hand and waited.

“Very sweet.” Geoffrey read the heart felt letter she had written for Farren. Genuine thanks for all he gave to protect her, a plea to be well, and hope for more time to get to know one another. “I’m sorry you haven’t seen more of him.”

“I’m glad I can see him at all.” Evadia sat up straight in her chair and glanced across the table at what her caretaker was working on. “What are the funny scribbles down the side? “

“A funny sort of language angels once used.” Geoffrey answered her honestly as he always did. “A habit of mine when I take notes, I’m afraid.”

“Angelic script.” Gigi answered more plainly. “Remember, living here is just as new to him. He is trying to fit in.”

“With picture books?” Evadia teased. 

“Magazines.” Geoffrey nodded a bit embarrassed with his lack of experience. “Unfortunately most of my books don’t deal with humans as they are now, I’m not very fit for this.”

“You’ve cared more than most.” Iesu answered through Evadia. A skill he was using more carefully and with Evadia’s consent. “Had you not accepted the role…”

“Let’s not think about that.” Geoffrey shook his head. “I was glad to accept. I don’t regret it. I just don’t know how to manage things just yet. I’m afraid in the time it takes me to figure it out, you will be off on your own.”

“Could I stay?” Evadia knew why he was concerned. It was a thought that kept creeping into her mind as well. She would grow quickly and it was expected of their kind to move on. She was unsure that she wanted to. She was adapting to life in Tsumi and she was fond of her foster family. “Once I grow up. We can still be like this, can’t we?”

“I would like that.” Geoffrey assured her. “I think we have a lot to learn from each other.”

“I think so too.” Evadia smiled until she saw worry wash over Geoffrey’s face and he rushed to the window. “What’s wrong.”

“I don’t know.” Geoffrey admitted. “I thought I felt something.”

“There are so many powerful demons in this city.” Evadia shuddered. “It’s hard to keep track of them all.”

“I’m fairly certain it was not one of ours.” Geoffrey explained. It was only a moment but he felt the chill of something that did not want to be felt. Years of protecting Heaven’s gates gave him keen enough senses to know when something was where it shouldn’t be. He looked at the sudden worry on Evadia’s inquisitive young face and smiled to ease her mind. “It may just be someone going to see Lord Eidolon.”

“And if it’s not?” Evadia paused and picked up her scroll from the table. It may be better to assume Geoffrey’s concern was just the overprotective nature of an adult looking after a child, but he seldom looked so troubled and Evadia wanted assurance that all was well Tsumi. “Do you think we can deliver this today?”

“As long as you don’t get your hopes up.” Geoffrey agreed to the trip with a bit of sadness evident in his tone. There was no hiding from each other her reasoning for the delivery. Any chance to see her father was one worth taking, but he had just frightened her and she wanted to be sure Farren was okay. “I don’t like seeing you upset.”

“I will be completely hopeless.” Evadia gave her promise with bow.

“That is…. hilarious.” Gigi laughed as Geoffrey shook his head. Evadia’s innocence was so charming you could do nothing but love her completely. “You are both hopeless.”

“So, we can go?” Evadia poked at Gigi with the scroll.

“Yes, of course.” Geoffrey hugged the girl suddenly. He could not imagine how any of the Council had ever found her threatening. She was so charmingly innocent. She was thoughtful and inquisitive, eager but mindful of others. Even Iesu within her didn’t seem to pose a real threat to anyone and his anger calmed with each passing day. It was heart-breaking to know they had debated over her right to live. “Let’s go.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment